Blood pressure and vaping

Alex

Reonaut
Administrator
ECIGSSA Donor
VIP
LV

Awards
NB! This is from reddit (ie Not from ME)

Blood pressure and vaping (90 days analogue Free) self.electronic_cigarette

submitted 5 hours ago by Splinkk

Little background- At 26 I found out I had high blood pressure (Average readings were 140/100) At the time i worked as a clinical nurse manager in a large 120 bed nursing home so attributed this to stress mostly, (obviously didn't want to admit to myself that smoking between 10 and 20 cigarettes a day had anything to do with it). Tried cutting down to having 5-10 cigarettes a day but this had absolutely no effect whatsoever. Doctor put me on blood pressure meds (Zestril 10mg) and this brought my BP around 120/90, though had side effects where I could feel my heart race and felt a bit dizzy when I stood up.

So fast forward 2 years, got a new job in a general practitioners office, which is a lot less stress. Stopped taking the Zestril and measured my BP twice a day. To my disappointment my blood pressure was still rocking around 130/95. Diastolic NEVER came below 90. I figured hypertension is something I would just have to deal with forever, my Dad has been on BP meds since his early 30's, and you can't run from your family. (He has never smoked or drank alcohol either)

So smoked my last analogue on New Years Eve night, and have been vaping since. Using 3mg during the week, then 6mg when out having a few drinks.

I have access to a BP machine in my office so been taking 2 a day readings

First 30 days vaping - BP averaged 125/95 30-60 days vaping BP Average 120/91 60-90 days vaping BP Average 118/86

I'm ecstatic that my diastolic has finally come below 90! Even when I took BP meds my bottom number would never come below it. This is only 3 months off the stinkies so hoping it will continue to improve in months to come.

Hope this might serve as some inspiration to people quitting smoking for cardiac reasons!