The truth and science behind ceramic coils - By Uwell

Attie

Dedicated Hobbyist
Supporting Vendor
LV

Awards
Last edited:
Now I am impressed by the decision I made to never use ceramic coils ever. I majored in Human Physiology and knew the damage that microscopic fibres from fibreglass and asbestos can do over decades of exposure. Had a suspicion that certain ceramic products could have a similar effect.
Organic cotton ftw. :)

@Attie .....thanks for this.

Extract taken from the article ..... Pg8 of 9

"Finally, ceramic coils may cause death.

Making the ceramic material

The ceramic coil is made from inorganic porous ceramic material. There are tiny pores inside the ceramic material that cannot be seen. Pores play an important role in wicking. In order to produce a porous ceramic material, raw materials such as silica powders and pore-forming materials like starch or other organic polymers are needed. Then they are mixed and put into a mold with high pressure. Samples are obtained with a fixed shape. The samples are put into a furnace and set to a high temperature. Pores are formed while the pore-forming agent combusts and escapes. This kind of pore plays an important role by introducing e-liquid into your vape. However, to make enough pores, the temperature to stick the materials together is lower which causes low tensile and compressive strength. The powders fall off or crack when the ceramic coil is touched or shaken. All the powders can be introduced into the lung by air which is dangerous (the speed of air can reach 223mph when we are vaping).

Vaping

Ceramic coils will absorb more e-liquid. E-liquid is vaporized and evaporated when the coil is working. High pressure from the vapor will expand and damage the structure of the porous ceramic material. Loose powders will fall off and go into the lung.

Causing death